What’s Your Story?

17 Dec

Who knew that training for a seasonal position would last two weeks and consist of eight hour training sessions with a 400 point final exam (on Tuesday…yipes!) to cap things off? I sure didn’t.

That’s how I’ve been spending just about everyday since the 6th. Eight hours of resort tours, learning the Vail Resorts booking system, rate code, wing code and unit type memorization, role playing check-ins and check-outs, oh and most important, where you can buy liquor in each of the Keystone villages (note…pot is still illegal at Keystone as the resort is located on federal land, so I can’t help ya there…sorry kids).

During a lull in yesterday’s role playing, Kaitlyn, our trainer, asked us why everyone decided to come out to the mountains. Before we go any further, let me stress to you, that over the last two weeks, each and everyone of us has answered this question at least 50 times. I mean, I’ve started to attribute my move to new and exciting, albeit exaggerated, reasons, just to spice things up…that’s how many times I’ve been asked the. same. question. Anyway I digress, so Kaitlyn asked and we all went around, spitting out our routine answers…never seen snow before, couldn’t get a job at home, my boyfriend lives in Keystone, weed is legal in CO now, etc, etc, etc. Kaitlyn just rolled her eyes (she’s been in Keystone awhile…) and said “Now tell why you REALLY moved out here”. The room got quiet and we all just looked at her blankly.

“I am serious, everyone who comes out here is running from something,” she said. “Everyone’s got a story.”

Now don’t get me wrong. I’ve only been out here a couple of weeks but I’ve met my fair share of characters; from eccentric older women who are convinced that I was a CEO in a previous life to 40 year old men stuck in their early 20s to trust-fund snobs out here on their parents’ dime. But generally the people I’ve come across don’t seem to be out here because they are running from something. Rather it seems that it’s just the opposite; the people that have moved out here are seeking something. Whether it be that perfect powder day, 300 days of sunshine, an unlimited party scene, freedom from corporate life, or an adventure.

Sure, everyone I’ve met has a story, heck some people even have a history; but one thing I’ve noticed and one of things that I love about the atmosphere out here, is that everyone is looking to achieve happiness and contentedness on a personal level. No one makes enough money to really be competitive in a professional sense and very few “locals” are true, born and bred locals; but everyone believes that their happiness lies in the lifestyle of the small community of a mountain town. It’s a refreshing change to the fast-paced competition that drives city life in your twenties.

Leave a Reply

Gypsea Lust

Travel, Fashion & Lifestyle

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Jeep Accessories

Latest Jeep News

denverspeax

The low down on what's good in Denver, CO.

The City Girl's Guide to the Wild West

Taking Summit County one ski hill at a time!

Swanning Around

[Verb] swan·ning - to wander around aimlessly in search of pleasure

Peaks and Passports

Chronicling my adventures in the Vail Valley and beyond...

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Myblog's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

