hellos and goodbyes.

24 Oct

I suck at goodbyes. I hate them. But then again, who really likes them, right?

I like to pretend that the goodbyes will never come. You know, just push the thought completely out of my head until that very moment when that particular goodbye pops up out of nowhere and seemingly takes me by surprise. I mean, I knew it was lurking there in the shadows waiting to jump out at me, but denial is my favorite way to deal with goodbyes. 
 
Either way, just as the bittersweet end of summer sneaks up on you, goodbyes inevitably sneak up on you too. Especially in a ski town. A ski town where the majority of the population is made up of seasonal workers that come to shred the winter away and then move on to the next stop on the wild ride of their life.
 
Goodbyes have been the theme of the last two weeks. Goodbyes to people that will never know how much they’ve changed my life. Goodbyes to people that took me on an unbelievable amount of adventures and opened my eyes to activities I never, in my wildest dreams, thought I’d be able to check-off my bucket list. Goodbyes to people that tested my patience and my resolve. And let me tell you, goodbyes are exhausting.
 
But in the midst of all these goodbyes, hellos to new recruits, new friends, new partners in crime are on the horizon. It’s a tricky balance out here, juggling all the hellos and goodbyes. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that when one fantastic person comes and goes, often times another is arriving in their place. Not necessarily to take their place, but to continue the first person’s legacy in your story. You just have to stay one step ahead of the curve and understand that while people come and go, a goodbye isn’t necessarily forever. Sometimes it’s just a “til I see you again”. 
 
Image
  
One Response to “hellos and goodbyes.”

  1. nrmontasser October 30, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    I can really relate to this post.The denial, how goodbyes become a theme at a certain time of year, and how exhausting they can get.

    Appreciated finally seeing someone couple good prospects with goodbyes, because really, at the end of the day- none of us know what is to follow. It’s unfair to assume the path ahead of us won’t be bringing something just as good, if not better!

    I recently wrote a blog post about goodbyes as well if you would like to check it out: http://knownandthoughtof.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/59/

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Gypsea Lust

Travel, Fashion & Lifestyle

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Jeep Accessories

Latest Jeep News

denverspeax

The low down on what's good in Denver, CO.

The City Girl's Guide to the Wild West

Taking Summit County one ski hill at a time!

Swanning Around

[Verb] swan·ning - to wander around aimlessly in search of pleasure

Peaks and Passports

Chronicling my adventures in the Vail Valley and beyond...

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Myblog's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

