solidarity.

7 Jan

I admit it. I let myself get caught up in the craziness of the holidays. 

Now don’t get me wrong. I love the holidays. I love that during the weeks between Thanksgiving Day and the New Year, that extra special feeling of closeness becomes ingrained in your everyday life. That to some extent the twinkling of Christmas lights act as a trigger for that feeling of intimacy that can only be felt for the ones you love most. I especially love that the holidays are the perfect excuse to eat as much dessert as your heart desires, because c’mon, what’s Christmas without a little Mary Murphy Dessert?
 
This year was a little bit different. Managing a hotel at Christmastime was far more stressful than I ever could’ve imagined. Truly. I went home every night for about three weeks and collapsed in bed or on the couch, completely wiped out from the day’s events. Not only that, but about 25% of Lodge employees (including myself!) down with an EPIC flu; that said, over the last few weeks I have received more late night calls and text messages about vomit than I care to admit.
 
Anyway, the holidays ended for us, officially, on Sunday; just two short days ago. And to celebrate we hiked up Mayflower Gulch this morning to spend a little time getting reacquainted with the great outdoors. I signed up for the Leadville Trail Marathon on January 1, so I figured Mayflower’s quick hike up would be good way to kick off the training season. But as we wandered up the gently sloping gulch road, I realized that while, yes, I needed to get my butt back in gear, it was my mind that needed this escape into the “wild”. At one point I stopped to take a breather and realized that all I could hear were the birds chirping in the early morning light, the sound of Abbey and Andrew, ok and myself, panting, and the squeaky crunch of the packed snow underfoot. It was glorious.
 
Image
Leave a Reply

Gypsea Lust

Travel. Fashion. Lifestyle

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Jeep Accessories

Latest Jeep News

denverspeax

The low down on what's good in Denver, CO.

The City Girl's Guide to the Wild West

Taking Summit County one ski hill at a time!

Swanning Around

[Verb] swan·ning - to wander around aimlessly in search of pleasure

Peaks and Passports

Chronicling my adventures in the Vail Valley and beyond...

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Myblog's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

