a wild ride.

11 Apr

It was 11:12pm and my “workday” had just come to a close. It had been busy, bustling even, but nothing compared to the chaos and excitement of February and March. It had been just busy enough that my night felt accomplished; that our service had exceeded someone’s expectations and put a positive spin on their time in our beloved little mountain town.

I sent my reports, wished Dan, our Graves Agent, a nice evening and wandered out into the crisp early April night.

As I climbed into my car and made my way down Highway 6 towards Dillon, I marveled at how dark it was. No one was coming up the hill towards Keystone, headlights blinding, and there were no headlights blaring into my rearview mirror as we drove away from the resort. Even the usual cheery twinkle of lights in the windows along the lake and up on the wooded hillside were dark.

That’s when it hit me. Closing was a mere 10 days away. Most of the “weekend warriors” were enjoying the bright sun, warm temperatures, and alfresco dining down in Denver and the spring breakers were dwindling. It was just us. The “locals”.

This season. Wow.

It definitely had it’s ups and downs, and there were more times than once where my “weekends” were a necessity if I wanted to save my sanity. I learned more about the human brain and how to manage a group of people (guests and employees alike) who come from extremely varying backgrounds than I have during any other chapter of my professional life. And most importantly, I have never worked so hard and been so proud of what my team has accomplished in the last six months.

Living and working in a resort community, where people come and go as quickly as the weather changes up at 9300′ above sea level, is a hard lifestyle to get used to when you have lived in the same city your entire life.

Transient, ephemeral, and unattached.

But in a way, a resort community forces you to become attached to these deciduous people like they are your kin. You spend nearly every waking moment together-working, playing, eating, exploring and generally live life to the fullest extent. They become a sort of extended family, where someone has your back, no matter the circumstance. A family of wild and crazy people, full of passion and love for wherever and whomever they end up with.

Winter 2014, it was one wild ride.

Image

Leave a Reply

Gypsea Lust

Travel, Fashion & Lifestyle

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Jeep Accessories

Latest Jeep News

denverspeax

The low down on what's good in Denver, CO.

The City Girl's Guide to the Wild West

Taking Summit County one ski hill at a time!

Swanning Around

[Verb] swan·ning - to wander around aimlessly in search of pleasure

Peaks and Passports

Chronicling my adventures in the Vail Valley and beyond...

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Myblog's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

