quiet.

8 Mar

I was supposed to grab dinner with some old friends tonight.

We’d planned on meeting at Prost at 6:00pm to nosh on German beer and homemade sausages in celebration of making it to the final 30 days of the season.

Though as 6:00pm drew nearer, the idea of leaving the comfort of our warm homes and soft couches began to drift further and further from our minds.

As we contemplated a rain check, I sat on my living room floor with the sliding glass door cracked and watched as the wispy evening clouds chased the sun lower and lower behind the rose colored peaks of Buffalo and Red.

I’ve had a lot of thoughts mulling about my brain the last several weeks. So many thoughts that I can’t always make sense of what I am thinking. I am oddly emotional, a bit overwhelmed, and frankly, bone tired; though at the very same moment I am excited for everything to come and thankful for a winter season that has been deeply highlighted by love, laughter, and friends who have become family.

As the sun sank deeper and deeper, turning the sky into a mosaic of colors, my thoughts finally quieted and I just watched. Watched and relaxed, embracing the silence in my overactive brain. I laid my head back against the couch and confirmed our rain check with one simple word.

“Tomorrow”.

With the final decision of “tomorrow” having been made, we three settled deeper into our cozy woolens, some with a glass of wine, others with a steaming mug of tea, and cheersed each other from the quiet of our respective homes; thankful for our thoughts, for our successes and failures, and for our beautiful little mountain community.

IMG_20160308_184732

Leave a Reply

Gypsea Lust

Travel. Fashion. Lifestyle

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Jeep Accessories

Latest Jeep News

denverspeax

The low down on what's good in Denver, CO.

The City Girl's Guide to the Wild West

Taking Summit County one ski hill at a time!

Swanning Around

[Verb] swan·ning - to wander around aimlessly in search of pleasure

Peaks and Passports

Chronicling my adventures in the Vail Valley and beyond...

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Myblog's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

