730 days.

2 Dec

Believe it or not, it’s officially been two years since my dad and I arrived in Summit County and met Erik at this “awesome little lunch spot'” (A-Cafe) for a celebratory sammie.

Coming into this little adventure, I truly believed I would be in the mountains for a season; just a quick hiatus from the “real world”, a chance to play and be “irresponsible” for a winter.

Well, about six weeks into my “hiatus” I knew I was in it for the long run.

I was hooked.

Hooked on the hot pinks and dreamsicle oranges that paint the sky with the early morning sunrises, hooked on the breathlessness (from the beauty and the altitude…) that washes over you upon reaching the summit of any one of the local 13ers and 14ers that stand guard over The County, hooked on the terrifying thrill I get when I looked down the chute that leads into the wide open bowl from the top of Mayflower Gulch and hooked on the people that live their lives without regret, like they have but one more day left to live.

“I’ll just stay for the summer and THEN I’ll get back to my career, to the real world,” I told myself, time and time again that first winter.

Well, after that first summer of sunshine, 14ers, long training runs and sailing on Lake Dillon…ok a few promotions at work helped too…that summer turned into my second winter season, which then evolved into my third winter and second Coloradoversary.

To this day, 730 days later, I am unceasingly astounded and unbelievable grateful that I have ended up where I am. I have been provided with some amazing, once in a lifetime career opportunities, met an incredible group of people that have developed into a fabulous little family-away-from-family and I spend my days doing what I love and living in a place that challenges me physically and stimulates me emotionally.

Colorado, it’s been a fabulous journey thus far, and I can’t wait to see what year three brings.

2 years

One Response to “730 days.”

  1. rgsims2013 December 3, 2014 at 9:46 am #

    Thinking about a moment takes a moment, then moves on to another moment. How do you slow down? Take a moment!!!!!

Leave a comment

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Jeep Accessories

Latest Jeep News

denverspeax

The low down on what's good in Denver, CO.

The City Girl's Guide to the Wild West

Taking Summit County one ski hill at a time!

Swanning Around

[Verb] swan·ning - to wander around aimlessly in search of pleasure

Peaks and Passports

Chronicling my adventures in the Vail Valley and beyond...

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

Myblog's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A lifetime's exploration

A photo-diary of my travels and top tips for each location

Miracle Corporation

Nothing But the Best

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme